Fla. justices uphold charter county term limits

Published On: May 10 2012 03:46:25 PM EDT

The Florida Supreme court says charter counties can have term limits for their elected officials.

The high court on Thursday unanimously receded from a 2002 ruling that struck down term limits for sheriffs, court clerks and other constitutional officers.

The new opinion also allows term limits for county commissioners in Florida's 20 charter counties.

Ten of those counties currently have term limits for commissioners.

The ruling came after the justices heard oral argument last month over term limits in Broward and Sarasota counties.

Other counties with term limits are Brevard, Clay, Duval, Hillsborough, Orange, Palm Beach, Polk and Volusia.

A term limit proposal is on the Nov. 6 ballot in Miami-Dade County.

The justices said their 2002 decision undermined counties' ability to govern themselves under constitutional home rule powers.


The views expressed below are not those of News4Jax or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus