Atlantic Beach elects mayor, commissioners

Published On: Dec 24 2013 04:26:00 AM EST   Updated On: Aug 27 2013 10:30:57 PM EDT

Voters in Atlantic Beach on Tuesday elected three city commissioners, one of whom also serves as mayor.

In unofficial results from the Duval County Supervisor of Elections:

Carolyn Woods drew  1,621 votes, or 55.4 percent, for Mayor/Commissioner Seat 1 over Mitchell E. Mitch Reeves Jr., who received 1,305 votes for 44.6 percent. Woods, who has served as Seat 4 Commissioner, will replace Mike Borno and serve a two-year term.

Jimmy Hill drew 1,451 votes, 50.89 percent, for Commissioner Seat 4, just ahead of Tim J. Anderson, with 1,400 votes, or 49.11 percent.   The narrow margin in this race may make it subject to a recount.

Jonathan Daugherty received 1,465 votes, or 51.55 percent, is reelected to Commissioner Seat 5 over challenger Mitch Harding, who had 1,377 votes, 48.45 percent.


The views expressed below are not those of News4Jax or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus