2-shot penalty rescinded for Justin Rose
Updated On: May 11 2014 01:46:40 PM EDT
The PGA Tour has rescinded the two-shot penalty given to Justin Rose at The Players Championship.
Rose was penalized Saturday evening after the third round when he addressed a chip shot off the 18th green and it was deemed his ball moved ever so slightly. Rose didn't think it did and played the shot. It took viewing of three television shots for the tour to assess the penalty under Rule 18-2b.
At the time, the Rules Committee deemed that the ball had "moved in a manner that was reasonably discernible to the naked eye" and assessed the general penalty under Rule 18 of two strokes.
Sunday morning, after consulting with the governing bodies and PGA Tour Commissioner Tim Finchem, it was determined that without the use of sophisticated technology, it was not reasonably discernable to the naked eye that the ball had left its original position and had come to rest in its original place, so the player’s determination that the ball had not moved was deemed to be conclusive and the penalty would not apply in this situation.
An hour before he teed off, the tour rescinded the penalty, but he remained in his original final-round pairing at 12:35 p.m.
The third-round score became a 71, and Rose teed off only five shots behind the leaders.
Copyright 2014 by News4Jax.com. The Associated Press contributed to this report. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.