Gators sweep SEC postseason awards

Published On: Mar 11 2014 02:22:12 PM EDT   Updated On: Mar 11 2014 02:22:42 PM EDT

A dominant year in the SEC extended to postseason awards for the Gators. Billy Donovan earned SEC Coach of the Year, Scottie Wilbekin was named SEC Player of the Year and Patric Young took home SEC Defensive Player of the Year honors.

This is the third time in Donovan's career he received the honor. He also won SEC Coach of the Year last year. Wilbekin is only the second player in Florida history to win the award, joining Chandler Parsons in 2011. Young is the first Gator to win SEC Defensive Player of the Year outright. Corey Brewer shared the honor in 2007. Young also won SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the third time in his career, a first in conference history.

Dorian Finney Smith was named the SEC's Sixth Man of the Year.


The views expressed below are not those of News4Jax or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus