Groups, tee times set for 1st two rounds of Players

Published On: May 06 2014 04:09:24 PM EDT   Updated On: May 06 2014 04:31:38 PM EDT

Phil Mickelson and caddie waits on the 18th fairway during Tuesday's practice round.


Lee Westwood highlights the opening group as The Players Championship tees off bright and early Thursday morning.

Westwood will join Martin Flores and Brendon de Jonge on the first tee at 7:15 a.m. Another group will tee off simultaneously on the 10th tee.

That's where those looking to find Phil Mickelson can do so at 8:39 a.m. Mickelson won The Players in 2007.

Groups, tee times for Thursday, Friday

He joins a star-studded group, flanked by Dustin Johnson and Sergio Garcia, who won the tournament in 2008.

The afternoon groups will tee off at 12:25 p.m.

Several big names will kick off their rounds as the temperatures heat up. Adam Scott, the 2004 champion, is grouped with Rickie Fowler and Steve Stricker at 1:39 p.m.

Ten minutes later, 2012 champion Matt Kuchar and two-time Masters champion Bubba Watson will begin their tournaments on the first tee.

Groups teeing off Thursday morning will start their second rounds in the afternoon on Friday, and vice versa.

Before the tournament begins, country music star Jake Owen will perform on the Clubhouse Lawn as part of Military Appreciation Day. The ceremony begins at 5:30 p.m.


The views expressed below are not those of News4Jax or its affiliated companies. By clicking on "Post," you acknowledge that you have read the Terms of Service and your comment is in compliance with such terms. Readers, please help keep this discussion respectful and on topic by flagging comments that are offensive or inappropriate (hover over the commenter's name and you'll see the flag option appear on right side of that line). And remember, respect goes both ways: Tolerance of others' opinions is important in a free discourse. If you're easily offended by strong opinions, you might skip reading comments entirely.

blog comments powered by Disqus